(Photos) APC wins Kwara-bye election and Katsina-bye election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on
Saturday night declared the candidate of the All Progressives
Congress (APC), Mr. Raheem Olawuyi Ajuloopin, as winner of
the Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero Federal constituency bye-
election in Kwara state.

Announcing the results, INEC's Chief Returning Officer for the
poll, Prof. Abimbola Adesoji, said Ajuloopin scored 21,236
votes as against 18,095 votes scored by the Peoples
Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Saheed Damilare Alatise.

He added that the Labour Party had 150 votes; just as the PPN
had 76 votes while UPN had 42 votes.
He said out of the 40,930 total votes cast, the total valid votes
were 39,599 while 1,331 votes were rejected.

Daily Trust reports that the APC candidate won in three out of
the four local governments in the constituency and led with
3,142 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared
the Alhaji Abubakar Kusada of the All Progressives Congress
as winner of the bye-election into the House of


The election was conducted in the Kankiya/Kusada/Ingawa
Federal constituency in Katsina state on Saturday.

Kusada was the speaker of Katsina state House of Assembly.
The returning officer, Prof Adedayo Hamza, who announced the
result on Saturday in Kankiya said Kusada scored 48,518 votes
to emerge winner.

Alhaji Abdussamad Yusuf of PDP came second with 20,193
votes, while Nasiru Kankiya of the Peoples Redemption Party
scored 1,810 votes as second runner-up.

Abdullahi Umar of the Yes Electorate Solidarity got 221 votes.
According to Hamza, the total number of registered voters in
the constituency is 193,904, while the number of accredited
voters was 74,242.

The number of valid votes cast was 70,742 and rejected votes
2,331. The total number of votes cast was 73,073.

The INEC National Commissioner, Mr Festus Okoye, advised
political parties to intensify voter education and management
of polling units.

He commended the political parties, security agencies, media
men and other stakeholders for the peaceful conduct of the

Post a Comment